The Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences (abbreviated after its Hungarian name as GTK) came into existence during the structural reform of the Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME) in 1998. By creating this faculty the University returned to its historical traditions. In 1934, the first university-level faculty of economic studies in Hungary started to operate at the Hungarian Royal Palatine Joseph University of Technology and Economics (the antecedent of BME), one of the rectors of which was the internationally renowned professor of economics Professor Farkas Heller.

The establishment of the Faculty was an appropriate response to the demand of the labour-market for employees with technical, economic, management, communication and social sciences knowledge who would be able to adapt to the quickly changing requirements of modern economies.

A survey of the past nearly two decades might tempt us to present our achievements by means of precipitously rising curves, histograms or exciting charts, though we should merely be content with the fact that the Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences is successfully integrated in the Budapest University of Technology and Economics, and that – by the most important parameters – this Faculty is one of the most important faculties of our University. GTK functions with a good national and international reputation, producing graduates with specialised knowledge in the economic and social sciences, especially for the needs of industry, the service sector and the administration and management thereof.

Structure and Organization

Institute of Applied Pedagogy and Psychology
Department of Ergonomics and Psychology
Department of Technical Education

Institute of Economic Sciences
Department of Economics
Department of Environmental Economics

Institute of Social Studies
Department of Philosophy and History of Science
Department of Sociology and Communication

Institute of Business
Department of Management and Corporate Economics
Department of Finance
Department of Business Law

Centre of Modern Languages

Centre of Physical Education